To build jQuery, you need to have the latest Node.js/npm and git 1.7 or later. Earlier versions might work, but are not supported. For Windows, you have to download and install git and Node.js. OS X users should install Homebrew. Once Homebrew is installed, run brew install git to install git, and brew install node to install Node.js. Linux/BSD users should use their appropriate package managers to install git and Node.js, or build from source if you swing that way. Easy-peasy. Special builds can be created that exclude subsets of jQuery functionality. This allows for smaller custom builds when the builder is certain that those parts of jQuery are not being used. For example, an app that only used JSONP for $.ajax() and did not need to calculate offsets or positions of elements could exclude the offset and ajax/xhr modules. Any module may be excluded except for core, and selector. To exclude a module, pass its path relative to the src folder (without the .js extension). Some example modules that can be excluded are: Note: Excluding Sizzle will also exclude all jQuery selector extensions (such as effects/animatedSelector and css/hiddenVisibleSelectors). The build process shows a message for each dependent module it excludes or includes. As an option, you can set the module name for jQuery's AMD definition. By default, it is set to "jquery", which plays nicely with plugins and third-party libraries, but there may be cases where you'd like to change this. Simply set the "amd" option: For questions or requests regarding custom builds, please start a thread on the Developing jQuery Core section of the forum. Due to the combinatorics and custom nature of these builds, they are not regularly tested in jQuery's unit test process. The non-Sizzle selector engine currently does not pass unit tests because it is missing too much essential functionality.

Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month


Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month celebrates Asians and Pacific Islanders in the United States. This includes all the Asian continents and Pacific islands of Melanesia (New Guinea, New Caledonia, Vanuatu, Fiji and the Solomon Islands), Micronesia (Marianas, Guam, Wake Island, Palau, Marshall Islands, Kiribati, Nauru and the Federated States of Micronesia) and Polynesia (New Zealand, Hawaiian Islands, Rotuma, Midway Islands, Samoa, American Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu, Cook Islands, French Polynesia and Easter Island). Beginning as Asian/Pacific American Heritage Week in 1979, Congress passed a law declaring May as Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month in 1992. There are more than 15 million people of Asian/Pacific Island descent in the United States today.

May was chosen to recall the first immigration of Japanese people to the United States on May 7, 1943 and to commemorate the anniversary of the completion of the Transcontinental Railroad on May 10, 1869, because of the abundance of Chinese workers on the railroad.

The National Archives, Library of Congress, National Gallery of Art, the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center are among the institutions that observe Asian/Pacific Islander Heritage Month with special exhibits. See these websites and a central website,, for abundant information on the Asian and Pacific Island heritage in the United States.


Asian Pacific Heritage Month
Library of Congress Asian-Pacific Heritage
Smithsonian Asian Pacific Heritage
National Archives Asian Pacific Heritage (National Gallery) (National Endowment for the Humanities)